Recently I’ve been focusing on getting back into shape. Summer of 2015 I was in the best shape of my life (probably) since I had no internet and the only thing to keep me busy was an internship and the gym, so I worked out about 2 hours a day 5-ish days per week. Now that I have time again, I have been listening to a lot of music trying to get me pumped up to reach my new goals, and one of my recent favorites is Mama’s Gun by Glass Animals.

Now, I’m not one of those people that gets pumped up by listening to Eye of the Tiger or The National Anthem and dreaming of one day dropping Apollo Creed to the mat all the while creating an imaginary coach shouting “ONE MORE! ONE MORE!”. What works better for me is getting into a state of mind that makes me feel like I have something to prove. The only way to get there, I’ve found, is darker music. Minor keys, stretched out bass tones, and atmospheric nuance and all that stuff. It makes me feel like an underdog to my future self and convinces me to push harder to come out of the dark mindset and achieve something to be proud of.

Fortunately, I’m also an album guy, and Mama’s Gun comes at just about the half-way mark of Glass Animals’ amazing “How To Be A Human Being” album which means my legs are warmed up and I get just the right motivation at the right time to pump out my best 43 minutes run ever. So if you’re interested, start here, then find the album anywhere and listen to the whole thing in one go, preferably in the process of achieving greatness.

